The Housing Authority of Elgin is the affordable housing provider in the city of Elgin and Kane county villages and municipalities. We provide an affordable housing rental program through our Low Income Housing Tax Credit properties and through a Housing Choice Voucher rental assistance program. HAE also administers a Family Self Sufficiency (FSS) program to our clients.

Affordable Housing

Affordable Housing Waitlist is Closed

Housing Choice Voucher

The HCV waitlist is currently closed.

Partner Portal

Latest News


On March 11, 2021, President Biden signed the American Rescue Plan Act of 2021 (ARP) (P.L. 117-2). Section 3202 of the ARP appropriated $5 billion for the creation, administration, and renewal of new incremental emergency housing vouchers (EHVs) and other eligible expenses related to COVID-19.

The HAE window is open for assistance  weekly on Monday, Tuesday, and Thursday
  8:00 A.M.-5:00 P.M.  The HAE office is closed for lunch from 12-1 P.M. daily.